Best aroma diffuser 2026: 7 electric diffusers compared for UK homes

What a month of scent costs, how far each machine reaches and what it asks of you: seven compared.

By The Best Aroma Diffuser editors · Updated

A Scentech diffuser on a wooden bench in an entrance hall, wall hooks and a tote bag behind it

The answer in brief

  1. Scentech Smart Aroma Diffuser 2 in taupe
    1

    Our pick · £27 pods

    Scentech Smart Aroma Diffuser 2

    9.3 rating€149.95

    Advertisement See the offer

  2. Scentech Smart Aroma Diffuser Pro in aluminium
    2

    Best for large rooms

    Scentech Smart Aroma Diffuser Pro

    9.0 rating€219.95

    Go to number 2

  3. No product photo
    3

    States a room size: 20 m²

    Beurer LA 40

    6.4 rating£39.99

    Go to number 3

  4. No product photo
    4

    Most reviews here

    John Lewis Electric Diffuser

    5.8 rating£50

    Go to number 4

  5. No product photo
    5

    Oils from the same shop

    Tisserand Aroma Spa Diffuser

    5.6 rating£43

    Go to number 5

  6. No product photo
    6

    £0.73 a millilitre

    Stoneglow Perfume Mist

    5.2 rating£65

    Go to number 6

  7. No product photo
    7

    Ceramic, occasional use

    John Lewis Speckled Ceramic

    4.6 rating£55

    Go to number 7

The 7 best aroma diffusers of 2026

  1. Scentech Smart Aroma Diffuser 2 in taupe
    1

    Our pick · £27 pods

    Scentech Smart Aroma Diffuser 2

    9.3 rating

    4.7 on Trustpilot (281 reviews)

    One pod clicks in and runs one to three months: no tank, no drops, no scale.

    up to 65 m² coverage± 39.5 dB whisper-quietwaterlessapp + dial

    • Warm ambient light
    • Aluminium with taupe fabric
    • Returns open for 30 days
    • Mains only, no battery
    • Highest setting: about a month per pod

    €149.95£27 a pod, 1–3 monthsFree with 7 scents

    Advertisement See the offer

    Cost per month

  2. Scentech Smart Aroma Diffuser Pro in aluminium
    2

    Best for large rooms

    Scentech Smart Aroma Diffuser Pro

    9.0 rating

    The same pods and running cost, in a body that covers a floor and holds four days of battery.

    up to 100 m² coverage± 39.5 dB whisper-quietwaterlesstouchscreen + app

    • Charges while it keeps running
    • Aircraft-grade aluminium body
    • The dearest machine here
    • 100 m² is more than most rooms need

    €219.95£27 a pod, 1–3 monthsFree with 9 scents

    Advertisement See the offer

    Waterless or ultrasonic

  3. No product photo
    3

    States a room size: 20 m²

    Beurer LA 40

    6.4 rating

    4.5 on John Lewis (35 reviews)

    A table lamp with an ultrasonic aroma function, and the only seller here naming a room size.

    up to 20 m² coveragenoise not statedwater-based (180 ml)timer 1, 3 or 7 hours

    • Seven hours of mist per fill
    • Guaranteed three years by John Lewis
    • No oil cost per month published
    • Needs rinsing and drying every day (US EPA)

    £39.99loose oil, cost not stated

    See at John Lewis

  4. No product photo
    4

    Most reviews here

    John Lewis Electric Diffuser

    5.8 rating

    4.2 on John Lewis (103 reviews)

    Forty-five minutes of mist per 100 ml fill, says the retailer: refilling is the running cost here.

    coverage not statednoise not statedwater-based (100 ml)timer

    • 2–3 drops of oil at a time
    • Powers off when empty
    • No oil consumption figure published
    • Needs rinsing and drying every day (US EPA)

    £50loose oil, cost not stated

    See at John Lewis

  5. No product photo
    5

    Oils from the same shop

    Tisserand Aroma Spa Diffuser

    5.6 rating

    4.6 on tisserand.com (11 reviews)

    Four to five hours a fill, with the brand's own oils at £12.00 a bottle.

    coverage not statednoise not statedwater-based (100 ml)intermittent or continuous mist

    • 30 seconds on, 30 off, or steady
    • Water-level indicator
    • Ten five-star reviews and one one-star
    • A buyer cannot get the cover off

    £43brand oils, £12.00 per bottle

    See at tisserand.com

  6. No product photo
    6

    £0.73 a millilitre

    Stoneglow Perfume Mist

    5.2 rating

    4.3 on John Lewis (13 reviews)

    Fifteen millilitres of perfume oil, £11.00 to replace, and John Lewis says ten weeks a fill.

    coverage not statednoise not statedwater not statedcontrols not stated

    • Up to ten weeks between refills
    • A year's guarantee, says John Lewis
    • Not stated whether it uses water
    • Highest price of the five shop models

    £65brand oil, £0.73 per ml

    See at John Lewis

  7. No product photo
    7

    Ceramic, occasional use

    John Lewis Speckled Ceramic

    4.6 rating

    Rated 5.0 by a single reviewer

    The ceramic sibling of number four: same 100 ml, same 45 minutes.

    coverage not statednoise not statedwater-based (100 ml)controls not stated

    • Speckled ceramic body
    • 24 V DC mains adaptor
    • The retailer's words: "occasional household use only"
    • One review only

    £55loose oil, cost not stated

    See at John Lewis

The running figures, side by side

Read on 9 September 2026 from maker and retailer pages; the last column repeats every month.

ModelCoverageNoiseWaterControlsPriceScent per month
Scentech Smart Aroma Diffuser 2up to 65 m² coverage± 39.5 dBwaterlessapp + dial€149.95£27 pod, 1–3 months
Scentech Smart Aroma Diffuser Proup to 100 m² coverage± 39.5 dBwaterlesstouchscreen + app€219.95£27 pod, 1–3 months
Beurer LA 40up to 20 m² coveragenot statedwater-based (180 ml)timer 1, 3 or 7 hours£39.99loose oil, not stated
John Lewis Electric Diffusernot statednot statedwater-based (100 ml)timer£50loose oil, not stated
Tisserand Aroma Spa Diffusernot statednot statedwater-based (100 ml)intermittent or continuous£43£12.00 per bottle
Stoneglow Perfume Mistnot statednot statednot statednot stated£65£0.73 per ml
John Lewis Speckled Ceramicnot statednot statedwater-based (100 ml)not stated£55loose oil, not stated

How to keep the monthly cost down

What does a month of scent cost?

It is the refill that recurs, not the machine. A £27 pod runs one to three months; Stoneglow oil works out at £0.73 a millilitre. Three sellers print no refill price. Cost per month.

Water or waterless?

A 100–180 ml tank runs on water dosed with oil drops, and needs rinsing and drying daily (US EPA). The waterless pair send neat oil as dry mist. Waterless or ultrasonic.

water-basedwaterless

Does it reach the whole room?

Of five shop-bought models, only the Beurer names a figure: 20 m². Scentech rates its Diffuser 2 for 65 m² and the Pro for 100 m². The others print nothing.

up to 20 m²up to 65 m²up to 100 m²

Candle, reeds or a machine?

At three hours a day a candle runs €40 to €55 a month at bol.com prices, reeds about €10. A £27 pod covers one to three months.

Four ways of scenting a house

Reed sticks, a burning candle, a water tank, a waterless atomiser: what each demands and what each costs.

Reed diffuser

Scented candle

Water diffuser

Waterless diffuser

How it worksReed sticks carry oil out of the bottleThe flame melts wax and lifts the oilDrops of oil in a tank, as cool mistNeat oil leaves as dry mist, no heat
Reachthe table it stands onone room at a time10–35 m² where statedmakers claim 40–100 m²
Upkeepturn the sticks weeklywick trimmed, 3–4 hours a burnrinsed and dried out each day (US EPA)a fresh pod when it empties
Safety and noiseno flame, no soundlive flame: never leave it burningno flame; decibels rarely givenno flame, no water; quiet ones ± 39.5 dB
Cost per monthabout €10 monthly (250 ml, 3 months, euros)3 hours a day: €40–55 (€0.44–0.59 an hour, bol.com)brand oils, £12.00 a 9–20 ml bottle; use not stated£27 per pod lasting 1–3 months (Scentech)

Behind the ranking

Figures the makers and the shops print themselves, beside dated customer reviews, checked on 9 September 2026. No laboratory, no readings of our own; where a seller published no number, the cell stays empty. How we compare.

Maker and retailer specificationsPublic customer reviewsPrices read 9 September 2026No measurements of our own

  • stated coverage25 %
  • noise20 %
  • scent cost and refilling20 %
  • control15 %
  • maintenance10 %
  • review base10 %

Practical questions

How does the free diffuser work?

It is a threshold. Three scents adds a mystery scent, five the Smart Aroma Diffuser, seven the Diffuser 2, nine the Pro. It only lands in the basket via the offer page.

What are the returns and the guarantee?

Thirty days to change your mind, return postage on Scentech unless stated otherwise, and a one-year guarantee on manufacturing faults. Buy at John Lewis or Tisserand and their terms apply.

Will my own essential oil work in one?

No. The Scentech pair take sealed ScentPods of blended fragrance oil, 65 ml at a time, and anything else voids the guarantee. The five water-tank machines here take loose oil.

Does Scentech ship to the UK?

Not on the day we looked. Dispatch is from the Netherlands, no UK delivery window or fee is named, and a British address at checkout on 9 September 2026 came back "Shipping not available".

Why are the prices in euros?

The list is in euros; Shopify recalculates at the till. Its 9 September 2026 rate priced a scent £27.00, the Smart Aroma Diffuser £101, the Diffuser 2 £132, the Pro £193.

Scentech Smart Aroma Diffuser 2: our 2026 choice

Scentech Smart Aroma Diffuser 2 in taupe

Scentech Smart Aroma Diffuser 2: our 2026 choice

Up to 65 m², no water, £27 a pod.

free with 7 scents1 year guarantee30 days to returnTrustpilot 4.7, 281 reviews

Advertisement See the offer

Our pick: ScentechAdvertisementSee the offer